Skip to content


Gbehley-Geh Women Farmers Reap More Produce, High Income

Liberian women who play crucial roles as farmers, laborers and entrepreneurs face greater challenges than men in accessing needed resources.

To combat this, the USAID Food and Enterprise Development Program (USAID FED) for Liberia has partnered with agricultural women's groups to provide access to these needed resources.

Zimbabwe: Profit in a Drought Year, Govt's Undemocratic Dance With Private Grain

The Minister of Agriculture, Mechanisation and Irrigation Development, Dr Joseph Made recently announced that in order to mitigate the drought Zimbabwe is faced with, Government is set to import US$260 million worth of maize from our neighbour, Zambia. This is largely to be done through private players in the grain importation sector who have been granted permits from his ministry.

We Have Cracked the Agoa Deal - Davies

The salmonella issue has been concluded and the South African market is now open for 65 000 tonnes of US poultry imports, Rob Davies, Minister of Trade and Industry (dti), told media on Thursday.

Briefing media about progress regarding the US African Growth and Opportunity Act (Agoa), Davies said the US has signed all documents and he is now awaiting formal indication that the agreement has been concluded.

SA Poultry Slammed for 'Protectionism'

The Association of Meat Importers and Exporters of SA (AMIE) on Tuesday criticised the SA Poultry Association (Sapa) for its "stubborn protectionism" of the local chicken industry.

On Monday, Department of Trade and Industry (dti) Minister Rob Davies informed reporters of the possible suspension of SA from the African Growth and Opportunity Act (Agoa) and said that the move would affect the agricultural sector.

Benin to Host the Fourth Annual Meeting of the Ouagadougou Partnership

press release

The international conference, which will be held in Cotonou from December 09-11, 2015 aims to celebrate the significant strides made in facilitating access to family planning methods in the nine countries composing the Ouagadougou Partnership, namely, Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal and Togo.